Published storage prices
Each row is a storage site's own published tariff, read on 15 September 2026. Grades are the site's own claim. Where a price is monthly we show the annual equivalent in brackets as our arithmetic.
| Site | Where | CaSSOA grade (site's claim) | Type | Caravan | Motorhome | VAT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cotswold Caravan Storage | Cotswold Water Park | Gold | Outdoor hardstanding | up to 24 ft: £504 a year | all motorhomes and twin axles: £576 a year | inc VAT (£420 and £480 plus VAT) |
| East Devon Caravan Storage | Exeter EX5 | Gold | All hardstanding | 5 to 6 m £585; 6 to 7 m £635; 7 to 8 m £685 a year | up to 6 m £650; 6 to 7 m £710; 7 to 8 m £770 a year | inc VAT (2026 tariff) |
| Doncaster Caravan Storage | Doncaster | Platinum | Hardstanding | £650 a year | not separately stated | not stated |
| Scottish Caravan Storage | Tranent EH33 | Gold | All hardstanding | £60 a month (£720) | £60 a month (£720) | inc VAT |
| Wynford Caravan Storage | Romsey SO51 | Platinum | Hardstanding | up to 8 m: £62.50 a month plus VAT or £875 a year; 8 to 10 m: £77 a month plus VAT or £1,095 a year | same by length | plus VAT monthly |
| Carafen | March PE15 | Platinum | Hardstanding, one-year minimum | £99 a month (£1,188) | £99 a month (£1,188) | inc VAT |
| Ballindarg Indoor Storage | Angus | Gold | Indoor heated, or outdoor sheltered | indoor from £8.50 a week plus VAT (£442 plus VAT); outdoor £11 a week plus VAT (£572 plus VAT) | same | plus VAT |
| Caravan and Motorhome Club compounds (39 sites, member rates, non-members plus £50) | UK-wide | Ramslade and Cadeside Platinum; Ashridge Farm, Sherwood, Bridlington, Durham Grange, White Water Park, Strathclyde Gold | Compound; Ashridge Farm has a covered area | White Water Park £460; Sherwood £490; Bridlington £595; Ashridge Farm £695 (£1,295 covered); Ramslade £775; Gatwick £895; Abbey Wood £1,385; Cadeside £90 a month | same tariff | not stated (list updated 26 August 2026) |
Not every site publishes a price: Carahill, Crofton, Wingates, Cefn Cerrig and others ask you to call. The comparison site caravanstorageprices.co.uk says it publishes no prices "because storage is priced per site". Insurer insurd's April 2026 guide gives bands of £250 to £400 for basic outdoor, £400 to £600 for secured CaSSOA and £600 to £1,200 plus for indoor, which the price lists above broadly bear out.
What CaSSOA grades mean
CaSSOA (the Caravan Storage Site Owners' Association) is "the UK accreditation scheme for secure caravan and motorhome storage". It "offers three levels of accreditation for storage site owners; Silver, Gold and Platinum with awards based on a variety of security elements including CCTV, perimeter protection and alarm systems. The more points accrued, the higher the accreditation", with a mandatory survey every three to five years. Its site finder is at cassoa.co.uk/find-a-site. You will still see "Bronze" on older insurer pages (Caravan Guard's explainer describes Bronze as the entry level with perimeter protection and lockable gates, Silver adding CCTV and monitored entry, Gold as the second-highest award held by more than half of members, Platinum the highest); Bronze is not on CaSSOA's current site, so treat a Bronze claim as historic.
CaSSOA's own 2022 guide to choosing storage contrasts the cheapest "inferior" storage at "£250.00 per year" with a Gold site at "£600.00 per year", and argues the difference is what your insurer and your peace of mind are buying.
The insurance discount
| Insurer | What it says | Source date |
|---|---|---|
| Caravan Guard (via CaSSOA) | "Up to 18% off caravan insurance for Cassoa storage site users" | 15 September 2026 |
| Shield Total Insurance | "a discount of up to 12.5% off your motorhome insurance premium if your unit is stored at a CaSSOA Platinum secure storage site" | 15 September 2026 |
| Caravan and Motorhome Club | "Save 15% on Caravan Cover when you store with us" (Club storage only) | 15 September 2026 |
| Caravan Guard (its own storage page) | "we rate on the postcode and security at the place of storage"; no percentage given | 15 September 2026 |
On a £600 storage bill an 18% saving on a £400 premium is £72, so the discount rarely pays for the storage; the case for a graded site is the theft and damage risk and the insurer's willingness to cover a stored unit at all. Ripe: we found no CaSSOA statement on its pages, so nothing is claimed.
What drives the price
- Length band. East Devon and Wynford both step up by metre; a 7.5 m motorhome costs £120 to £220 a year more than a 5.5 m caravan on the same yard.
- Indoor versus outdoor. Ballindarg's heated indoor rate is below its outdoor sheltered rate per week, which is unusual; the Club's Ashridge Farm covered area is nearly double its open compound. Indoor keeps the sun off seals and the frost off tanks but check for ventilation.
- Region. The Club's compounds run from £460 in the north east to £1,385 in south London for the same service.
- Contract. Several sites want a year up front or a one-year minimum (Carafen); the Club adds £50 for non-members.
- Tourer or motorhome. Most yards charge the same for both at the same length; a motorhome still needs tax or a SORN while stored and its MOT still falls due, see do motorhomes need an MOT and the road tax checker. A tourer has neither; the touring caravan guide explains the CRiS side.
Before you sign
- Ask for the CaSSOA certificate and grade, and check the site on cassoa.co.uk/find-a-site.
- Confirm the price is for your length band and whether VAT is included.
- Ask about access hours, notice to collect, and whether you can work on the unit on site.
- Tell your insurer the postcode; some policies require CaSSOA storage for theft cover.
- For a motorhome, decide whether to SORN it while stored and diary the MOT date.
- If you are buying a unit out of storage, run the £4.99 history check on a motorhome, or a CRiS check on a tourer; stored vehicles can carry finance as easily as driven ones.
More on the costs that sit around ownership: motorhome depreciation, warranties, and the motorhome and caravan FAQ.
Buying a touring caravan?
Tourers use the CRiS register, not a vehicle check. Read our honest guide.
Touring caravan guideSources, checked 15 September 2026
- CaSSOA, home
- CaSSOA, find a site
- CaSSOA, insurance products (Caravan Guard discount, Habcheck)
- CaSSOA, help I need caravan storage (29 September 2022)
- Caravan Guard, what is a CaSSOA site
- Shield Total Insurance, secure motorhome storage
- Caravan and Motorhome Club, caravan and motorhome storage facilities (updated 26 August 2026)
- Cotswold Caravan Storage, prices
- East Devon Caravan Storage, tariff 2026
- Doncaster Caravan Storage, pricing
- Scottish Caravan Storage, caravan storage
- Wynford Caravan Storage
- Carafen
- Ballindarg Indoor Storage
- insurd, caravan storage cost guide (22 April 2026)