Why 3,500 kg is the line
3,500 kg maximum authorised mass is where a category B licence, a class 4 MOT fee and most breakdown policies all draw a line. The breakdown cap is about the recovery truck: a 4.5-tonne A-class needs a heavier lorry than a car or a small van, so many mass-market policies exclude it. Your motorhome's gross weight is on its VIN plate and on the V5C; the tax and licence rules that follow from it are on the motorhome road tax checker and can I drive this motorhome on my licence.
Provider limits for motorhomes
Every figure below was read on the provider's own web page or policy document on 15 September 2026 (links in the sources). "None" means the provider states there is no limit. "Not stated" means the page or policy we read gives no figure, which is not the same as no limit. Prices are the provider's own "from" figure on that day, not a quote for your vehicle.
| Provider (product) | Max weight | Max length | Max width | Max height | Covers over 3,500 kg? | Price shown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RAC standard UK cover | 3.5 t gross | 6.4 m incl. tow bar | 2.55 m | not stated | No: see Arrival | not stated |
| RAC Arrival Motorhome | None | None | None | None | Yes, "no size or weight restrictions" | "from £15 a month" (Arrival range headline) |
| AA (personal or vehicle membership) | 3.5 t gross | not stated | 2.55 m excl. mirrors | not stated | No: "we won't be able to cover" heavier vehicles | "from £5.49 a month" |
| Green Flag (direct) | 3.5 t incl. load | 7 m excl. tow bar | 2.55 m | 3 m | No: MAYDAY is the route | not shown |
| Caravan and Motorhome Club MAYDAY (Green Flag / UK Insurance) | None | None | None | None | Yes, "No size, weight or vehicle age restrictions"; must be a standard make; no fifth-wheelers | from £85 (Roadside and Recovery) |
| Britannia Rescue (LV=) | 7.5 t (motorhomes) | 8 m (motorhomes) | not stated for motorhomes (2.3 m for other vehicles) | not stated for motorhomes (3 m for other vehicles) | Yes, up to 7.5 t; must be a recognised make coachbuilt for the purpose | from £33 a year (Roadside Assist); UK Recovery £73 |
| Caravan Guard (with its motorhome insurance; Inter Partner Assistance / AXA) | None | None | None | None | Yes, "Unrestricted size of vehicle recovery", including American RVs | included in the insurance premium |
| Comfort Insurance (add-on to its motorhome insurance; ARAG / Call Assist) | none stated | 12 m (DVLA limit quoted) | 2.55 m (DVLA limit quoted) | not stated | Yes by wording: "no limits on the length or weight"; vehicle must be DVLA-registered as motorhome, motor caravan, campervan or van with side windows | "from just £96" |
| Camping and Caravanning Club Arrival for Motorhomes (RAC) | None | None | None | None | Yes, "No size or weight restrictions on motorhomes" | not shown |
| Compare Breakdown Cover (Eversure) | None ("ANY height or weight") | 12.9 m | not stated | None | Yes | not shown |
| GEM Motoring Assist | 3,500 kg GVW | not stated for motorhomes | not verified | not stated | No | "from just £82.22" |
| QDOS Breakdown | 3,500 GVW | 5.18 m | 1.95 m | 2.44 m | No: most coachbuilts fail on length first | not shown |
| Start Rescue | 3,500 kg (cars and vans) | n/a | n/a | n/a | No: motorhomes excluded outright | n/a |
| Autohome | 3.5 t to 32 t by van product | restrictions apply, not stated | not stated | not stated | Van products only listed; motorhome eligibility not verified | UK Plus Van 7.5T £203.50 a year |
| Motorhome Protect | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | page states no limits at all | not shown |
| Safeguard (AA-delivered, with its insurance) | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not verified | included in premium |
The short version, by situation
- 3,500 kg or under, up to 6.4 m long: any of the big three will take you on standard cover. Check width on an A-class: 2.55 m is the DVLA maximum, so most vans fit, but mirrors and awning boxes are excluded from the AA's measure, not necessarily from others'.
- 3,500 kg or under but over 6.4 m: the RAC's standard cover stops at 6.4 m including the tow bar; Green Flag goes to 7 m; the AA's April 2025 terms give no length cap at all.
- 3,501 kg to 7,500 kg: Britannia Rescue's standard policy covers motorhomes to 7.5 tonnes and 8 m from £33 a year (Roadside Assist) or £73 (UK Recovery), as long as the van is "a recognised make and model which has been coachbuilt for that precise purpose". MAYDAY and RAC Arrival Motorhome have no cap. Caravan Guard and Comfort bundle unrestricted recovery with their insurance.
- Over 7,500 kg or an American RV: only the "no size or weight restrictions" products (RAC Arrival Motorhome, MAYDAY, Caravan Guard, Compare Breakdown Cover) go that far. Caravan Guard names American RVs; the RAC says its cover "should cover most RVs". No provider we read states a 7,500 kg figure.
- Self-build or unusual conversion: Britannia's "coachbuilt for that precise purpose" wording and MAYDAY's "standard make" condition can exclude you; Comfort ties cover to the DVLA body type. Ask before you buy. See self-build campervan insurance requirements.
- Europe: RAC standard European cover is 3,500 kg GVM, 7 m, 3 m high, 2.55 m wide; RAC Arrival European has no size or weight restrictions. Britannia's UK and European Assist is £152 a year on the same 7.5 t motorhome limit.
What the exclusions actually say
Nobody we read publishes an outright A-class or American RV exclusion. The qualifiers that matter are: MAYDAY, "so long as it's of standard make" and "This policy does not provide cover for 5th wheelers"; Britannia Rescue, "Motorhomes - must be a recognised make and model which has been coachbuilt for that precise purpose"; Comfort (ARAG wording 01.2025), the vehicle must be registered with DVLA "as either a motorhome, motor caravan, a campervan or van with side windows", with extra charges excluded for "aftermarket modifications" and for specialist equipment where modifications were not declared; RAC, "should cover most RVs". Start Rescue lists "Campervans, buses, limousines, motorhomes, horseboxes" under what cannot be covered at any weight.
Check the weight before you buy cover
Gross vehicle weight (also called MAM, MTPLM or revenue weight) is stamped on the VIN plate, usually in the cab door aperture or under the bonnet, and recorded by DVLA. Many 3,500 kg vans have been re-plated to 3,650 kg or more, which changes the breakdown product you need and the licence you need to drive it. The free DVLA summary on this site shows the revenue weight DVLA holds; the road tax checker uses the same field. On a used purchase, also run the £4.99 history check for finance and write-off records, and read the motorhome FAQ for the licence and MOT rules that follow from the weight.
Check a motorhome before you buy
Enter the registration for a free summary. Full history check £4.99.
Sources, checked 15 September 2026
- RAC, vehicle eligibility for breakdown cover
- RAC, caravan, motorhome and campervan breakdown cover (Arrival)
- RAC Arrival policy document (IM.ARRIVAL.POL.0422)
- RAC, European breakdown cover eligible vehicles
- AA, caravans and motorhomes breakdown cover
- AA breakdown terms and conditions (April 2025)
- Green Flag, caravan, trailer and motorhome cover
- Green Flag breakdown policy booklet
- Caravan and Motorhome Club, MAYDAY breakdown cover
- MAYDAY policy booklet (MAY RCG 0626)
- Britannia Rescue, cover FAQs
- LV= Britannia Rescue document of breakdown cover (40596-2025)
- Caravan Guard, does your breakdown cover have any length or weight restrictions
- Caravan Guard motorhome breakdown IPID
- Comfort Insurance, breakdown cover for motorhomes
- Comfort MC Assist breakdown policy wording (ARAG, 01.2025)
- Camping and Caravanning Club, Arrival for Motorhomes
- Compare Breakdown Cover, motorhome breakdown cover
- GEM Motoring Assist, caravans and motorhomes
- QDOS Breakdown FAQ
- Start Rescue FAQs
- Autohome covers
- Motorhome Protect, motorhome breakdown cover
- Safeguard, motorhome breakdown cover