How to read the table
Every price and feature was read on the provider's own site on 15 September 2026, and the sources are listed at the foot of the page. "Labels motor caravans" asks whether the report identifies the vehicle as a motor caravan rather than treating it as a car or van; we could only verify that for our own report, so the other cells say "not verified" rather than guessing. Where a provider does not show a price without starting a checkout, the cell says so.
| Provider | Price | Guarantee | Finance | Write-off and category | Stolen | Mileage history | Plate changes | Keepers | Labels motor caravans | Report |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CaravanCheck | £4.99 | None | Yes, Experian, with lender | Yes, category and loss date | Yes, police feed | Yes, every MOT reading charted, rollbacks flagged | Yes | Yes, count | Yes, motorhome report | Web page and email, free DVLA and MOT summary first |
| Auto Trader | £6.95 | Up to £30,000 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Mileage discrepancies | Not stated (colour changes listed) | Not stated | Not verified | Online, 27-point report |
| HPI | £19.99 full; £9.99 basic | £30,000, full only | Yes | Yes (not on basic) | Yes | Mileage discrepancies and MOT history (not on basic) | Yes | Yes, previous owners | Not verified | Online; MultiCheck 3 for £29.99 |
| RAC | £14.99 full; £9.98 basic; £29.97 multi | £30,000, full and multi | Yes, all tiers | Yes, full only | Yes | Yes, full only, with MOT history | Yes | Yes | Not verified | Online; powered by HPI; guarantee valid 2 years |
| AA | £14.99; 5 for £6 each | Up to £30,000 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Incorrect mileage | Yes, plate transfers | Yes, previous owners | Not verified | Online, with V5C and VIN match |
| Total Car Check | £9.99 Gold; £3.99 Silver | £30,000 Gold; £10,000 Silver | Gold only | Yes | Yes, police and insurance | MOT history | Yes | Keeper duration | Not verified | Online; Gold 3 for £14.99, 5 for £19.99 |
| MyCarCheck | £8.49 comprehensive; £4.99 basic | Not stated on the page we read | Comprehensive only | Yes | Yes | MOT history | Yes, plate transfers | Not stated | Not verified | Online; bundles from 2 for £9.99 |
| Car Reg Checks | From £4.99+ | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | MOT history | Not stated | Yes, previous keepers | Motorhome page, report not verified | Online, free and premium tiers |
| CarAnalytics | Full price not shown on homepage; £2.99 basic | £10,000, full only | Full only, Experian | Full only, Cat A, B, S, N | Full only | Mileage discrepancies | Yes | Yes | Not verified | Online |
| Motorscan | Not shown on its motorhome page | "£30k data guarantee" claimed | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Online, free tier upgradable |
| carVertical | Not shown before checkout | Not stated | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Online |
| CRiS (touring caravans only) | £17.95 | None stated | Yes | Yes | Yes | No MOT record exists | Not applicable | Registered keeper | Not applicable | Online, against the 17-digit CRiS number |
The verdict by situation
- Private sale under £30,000. Run the free DVLA and MOT summary here, then the £4.99 check. If it is clean, you have the Experian registers with the lender's name on any finance for less than the cost of the fuel to view it. If you want a guarantee as well, Auto Trader at £6.95 is the cheapest that has one.
- Private sale over £30,000. Pay for a guarantee. Auto Trader (£6.95), Total Car Check Gold (£9.99), the RAC and AA (£14.99) and HPI (£19.99) all carry £30,000 guarantees; at this price the £5 to £15 difference is not the point. Running our £4.99 check as well is cheap corroboration.
- From a dealer. Ask for the dealer's own HPI or Experian printout; most franchised dealers run one on every vehicle they take in. Then run your own check, because the printout is dated the day they bought it, not the day you are.
- Screening several before viewing. Our free summary costs nothing per registration and the £4.99 check is cheapest for the first few. For five or more, Total Car Check Gold at 5 for £19.99 or the AA at 5 for £6 each work out cheaper per vehicle.
- A touring caravan. None of the reg-based checks can see it. CRiS at £17.95 is the only register; see CRiS check cost.
What CaravanCheck does not do
- No data guarantee. If that matters to you, one of the guaranteed providers above is the right choice and we would rather say so.
- No touring caravans. Nobody checks a caravan by number plate; CRiS is the register.
- No physical inspection and no valuation. Damp, gas and the base vehicle need a habitation check or a pre-purchase inspection.
- UK-registered vehicles only. A motorhome still on foreign plates has no DVLA record to read.
MINDER: the motorhome register
HPI also runs MINDER, described on its towing page as "a vehicle security and asset registration system to help protect against theft and fraud" for motorhomes, which records a Motorhome Identification Number, VIN and registration alongside etching and electronic tagging. On 15 September 2026 HPI listed a trade MINDER check service by phone (01722 435478) and no consumer price, so it does not appear as a row above. A MINDER-registered motorhome will usually have MINDER etchings on its windows; they are worth checking against the V5C like any other identifier.
The price-led version of this page, with the same providers ranked by cost, is cheapest motorhome history check.
Check a motorhome before you buy
Enter the registration for a free summary. Full history check £4.99.