Prices read on 15 September 2026
| Provider | Price | Data guarantee | Includes finance? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CaravanCheck | £4.99 | None | Yes | Experian AutoCheck data, DVLA and DVSA; free DVLA and MOT summary first; report written for motorhomes |
| Car Reg Checks | From £4.99+ | Not stated on its motorhome page | Yes | Motorhome page lists finance, stolen, write-off, MOT history and previous keepers |
| Auto Trader | £6.95 | Up to £30,000 | Yes | 27-point report; stolen, finance, write-off, mileage discrepancies, colour changes, import and export; motorhome landing page |
| MyCarCheck | £8.49 comprehensive (£4.99 basic without finance) | Not stated on the page we read | Comprehensive only | Bundles from 2 for £9.99 |
| Total Car Check | £9.99 Gold (£3.99 Silver without finance) | £30,000 Gold, £10,000 Silver | Gold only | Gold 3 for £14.99, 5 for £19.99 |
| RAC | £14.99 full (£9.98 basic) | £30,000 on full and multi | Yes, all tiers | Basic tier leaves out write-off, mileage and MOT history; multi £29.97; powered by HPI |
| AA | £14.99 | Up to £30,000 | Yes | Multi-check 5 for £6 each |
| HPI | £19.99 full (£9.99 basic) | £30,000 on full | Yes | Basic leaves out mileage discrepancies, write-off details and the guarantee; MultiCheck 3 for £29.99 |
| CarAnalytics | Full check price not shown on its homepage (£2.99 basic without finance, stolen or write-off) | £10,000 on the full check | Full only | Not verified |
| Motorscan | Price not shown on its motorhome page | "£30k data guarantee" claimed | Not verified | Free check upgradable to finance, write-off, theft and mileage |
| carVertical | Not shown before checkout | Not stated | Not verified | Price only appears after entering a registration |
| CRiS (touring caravans only) | £17.95 | None stated | Yes | The only register for tourers; stolen, finance, write-off and registered keeper |
Where the cheapest is not the best buy
- You are paying £30,000 or more. A data guarantee pays out if the report was wrong and you lost money. Auto Trader includes one for £6.95, which makes it the best-value guaranteed check; the RAC, AA, HPI and Total Car Check Gold also carry £30,000 guarantees at higher prices. CaravanCheck has none.
- You are buying from a dealer. Ask for the dealer's own HPI or Experian printout first; a franchised dealer will normally have run one, and a refusal is an answer in itself. Then run your own £4.99 check to confirm it.
- You are screening several motorhomes. Multi-check bundles change the maths: Total Car Check Gold 5 for £19.99, the AA's 5 for £6 each, HPI 3 for £29.99. At £4.99 a time with the DVLA and MOT summary free first, we are still cheapest for the first two or three; after that the bundles catch up.
- It is a touring caravan. None of the reg-based checks apply. CRiS at £17.95 is the only option; see CRiS check cost.
What every check has in common
The registers behind these products are few: DVLA for the vehicle record, DVSA for MOT history, and Experian or HPI for finance, write-off and theft. A £4.99 check and a £19.99 check are usually reading the same records; the price buys the guarantee, the brand and the bundle, not different data. Where they can differ is how the report reads a motorhome: many are car reports with the word "vehicle" throughout, and whether they label a motor caravan correctly is something we could not verify from the outside.
What CaravanCheck does not do
No data guarantee, no touring caravans (nobody checks those by reg), no physical inspection and no valuation. What you get for £4.99 is the free DVLA and MOT summary first, then the Experian registers with the lender's name on any finance, the write-off category and loss date, the stolen marker, plate changes, keepers and high-risk markers, in a report written for motorhomes.
The feature-by-feature table, with a verdict for each buying situation, is on best motorhome history check.
Check a motorhome before you buy
Enter the registration for a free summary. Full history check £4.99.